It was a full parade of colours during opening ceremonies at the North East Region OPP Awards Ceremony Wednesday, September 26th in North Bay.

The event began with OPP Commissioner Vince Hawkes, Deputy Commissioner Gary Couture, and Chief Superintendent Fern LaBelle along with other dignitaries escorted to the podium by Piper, OPP Sergeant Geoff Johnson. NER OPP Media Services Co-ordinator Sergeant Carlo Berardi says the annual event is an important one because it recognizes and honours members of the OPP, uniform and civilian, as well as citizens, for acts of life-saving, bravery, and exemplary service.

Locally, West Parry Sound OPP members PC Jason Bridle, PC Jonathan Woods, PC Frank Gardell, and Sergeant Jeremy McDonald and Britt and Area Fire Department Firefighter, Cherelle McClaskin, and Britt Fire Captain Dave Marlin received the Commissioner’s Citation for Lifesaving. 

PC Gardell, along with First Nations Constable Justin Taylor, Robyn Hannon, Crystal Jones, Lorna Keall, Trisha Siegler, and Andreas Siegler was also awarded the Commissioner’s Commendation Certificate.

West Parry Sound Detachment Commander Staff-Sergeant Mike Gordon was honoured twice during the ceremony, receiving the Police Exemplary Service Medal 1st Bar (completing 30 years of exemplary service) and the Commissioner’s Commendation Certificate.