Parry Sound-Muskoka municipalities are about to get funding help from the province to help improve their delivery and efficiency of local services.

The one-time investment of approximately $12.6 million to small and rural municipalities was announced Wednesday in Queen’s Park by the Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing Steve Clark.

In his announcement, the Minister said “Taxpayers need their local government to deliver modern, efficient services that show respect for their hard earned

In total, 405 municipalities across Ontario will receive funding which was allocated based on the number of households in a municipality and whether the municipality is urban or rural.

For Parry Sound’s seven area municipalities that means almost $4.2 million with Seguin Township receiving the most at $725,000 and the Town of Parry Sound receiving $668 thousand.

Parry Sound Mayor and President of the Association of Municipalities of Ontario Jamie McGarvey said “We are very pleased to receive this funding from the Provincial Government,” adding “This funding will support our municipality’s endeavours to modernize our systems and services that will help to better serve our residents.”

For Parry  Sound-Muskoka MPP Norm Miller, “This funding will help all the communities in Parry Sound-Muskoka ensure they are providing their residents with the best value for their property tax dollars,”

“I look forward to seeing what innovative ways our municipal partners find to deliver services in the most efficient way possible.”

The following is a list of all Parry Sound-Muskoka municipalities that will receive funding:

Armour Township 407,000
Town of Bracebridge 604,110
Village of Burk’s Falls 254,800
Carling Township 508,800
Georgian Bay Township 604,110
Town of Gravenhurst 604,110
Town of Huntsville 604,110
Township of Joly 207,000
Town of Kearney 410,600
Township of Lake of Bays 602,410
Machar Township 331,200
Municipality of Magnetawan 560,800
Municipality of McDougall 534,200
Township of McKellar 474,600
Township of McMurrich-Monteith 321,000
District of Muskoka 725,000
Township of Muskoka Lakes 604,110
Town Parry Sound 668,150
Township of Perry 491,800
Ryerson Township 275,400
Seguin Township 725,000
Village of South River 256,000
Township of Strong 346,200
Village of Sundridge 252,800
Township of the Archipelago 675,170
Municipality of Whitestone 531,000